top of page
  • Writer's pictureCorissa

I'm letting you in.

Updated: Feb 25, 2020

My name is Corissa. I am 28 years old. The oldest of four kids. I have four beautiful children of my own. Two boys and two girls. We live in a small town in Illinois. It's where I have lived most of my life or have always come running back to. I don't know why because it sucks here. Seems like the only thing keeping me here is family and even that's questionable at times. As of now I am a stay at home mom. School is my plan and I can't wait to follow my dreams and finally finish something I should have a long time ago. It's never too late to change your life though. I'm also a recovering addict. April 18, 2019 is my sober date. Which is why I am trying this whole blogging thing out. Writing has been my cure. So why not share my story. Not only do I get to some things off my chest, but it also helps me stay clean. Which may sound silly to some, but I know that my fellow recovering addicts can relate. Maybe I can catch someones attention and help them. There is a way out. You don't have to b e alone. You don't have to give up. Lord knows I wanted to so many times. I tried twice to take my own life. It just wasn't my turn. Who knows maybe I was kept here to save another life. I am living proof that you can come out on top. It's definitely not easy, but in the end it's the greatest achievement you could ever imagine.

I am nervous. I am scared. My anxiety is through the roof. This is when my mind gets the best of me. I have never done something like this. Never imagined that I would either. Whose going to read actually this? What will people say? What will they think of me? Will I sound stupid? Will it sound okay? Will it make sense? Can I really do this? They say if it scares you and excites you then it's probably worth it. So here it goes. I'm going all in. Balls deep. Figuratively of course, but if I did I would have some pretty big ones. Everyone has a story. I'm here to share mine. Welcome to the pieces of me.

55 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page